Election Day

I hadn’t planned to write this morning, and I typically avoid sharing anything that is even remotely political. But as I was praying about my vote today and the fate of our nation, I received a message in my heart that I feel prompted to share.

We have been so wrapped up in this election, and with good reason. Our candidates this year and all the baggage that comes with them seem bigger than life. Whoever we elect as our president this year will undoubtedly shape what happens as we go forward. Imagine – he or she could potentially determine our country’s involvement in the Biblical end times prophecies!

But as I read this morning from Revelation chapter 4, I was reminded of who is truly in charge. John saw the door of heaven standing open and a throne in heaven. The One who sat on it “had the appearance of jasper and ruby. A rainbow that shone like an emerald encircled the throne…From the throne came flashes of lightning, rumblings and peals of thunder” (4:3-5) I tried to put myself in John’s place, seeing God in all His glory right there in front of him, sparkling like jasper and ruby with a rainbow surrounding Him. I tried to picture the thunder and lightning, the creatures who surrounded Him and never stopped worshiping Him. But my tiny brain can’t really comprehend heaven and the majesty of God.

In our Bible study last week, we talked about how BIG our God is, and how small we really are – and if you ever need to be reminded of that, take a minute to go out and stand under the stars. Or in front of the ocean.

Yet He loves us anyway. He is actually jealous for us.  I take for granted the fact that I can get up every morning and spend time with God. Sometimes I forget Who it is I’m actually speaking to. Who am I that I am allowed to come to Him with my requests? Who am I that He actually listens to and answers my prayers? Who am I that I am allowed to serve Him…and that He WANTS me to serve Him?

It is so important that we go to Him in prayer today before we cast our votes. But no matter who wins, He is still on that throne. And both of our candidates look a lot smaller when you try to picture Him up there. He is still in control!

God, please guide us in this important day in our nation’s history. Help us to elect the candidate that YOU have chosen, and guide him or her in all thoughts, actions, and decisions as our country begins a new chapter. Help us turn back to You and allow You to be our God once again!

2 thoughts on “Election Day

  1. You humble me with your ability to see the real issues for today and every day! I am praying your prayer often in the coming days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

