Worldwide Blog Hop

This week, I am joining a worldwide blog hop called “The Writing Process World Blog Tour.” I was invited to join by author Krysten Lindsay Hager. Krysten is an author and book addict who has never met a bookstore she didn’t like. She’s worked as a journalist and also writes middle grade, YA, humor essays, and adult fiction. Her debut novel, TRUE COLORS, was released this summer. She is originally from Michigan and has lived in South Dakota, Portugal, and currently resides in Southern Ohio where you can find her reading and writing when she’s not catching up on her favorite shows. Find her at: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/.

I’m so excited to be part of this blog tour. Here is a little about me…
I wear many hats: Christian; wife; mother to my young son, Aven, and my four-legged sons, Shakespeare and Poe; teacher of middle school reading and high school English; and now – my lifelong dream realized – author. My debut novel, THE VISITORS, will be released September 16. I graduated from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale with a bachelor’s degree in English Education and a master’s degree in Reading and Language Studies. I reside and teach in a small town in southern Illinois. From a young age, I was always an avid reader and writer with a big imagination. I spent much of my childhood searching for ghosts and UFOs to no avail – but I haven’t given up the hunt just yet. Though I continue to grow older, my true literature love is and has always been young adult fiction. I loves creating both futuristic and realistic stories about teenagers, and I feel so fortunate to get to work with them every day as a teacher.

As part of the blog hop, all authors are answering the same four questions. So here are my answers!

question 1) What are you working on?

I am currently in the middle of two writing projects! I have written a novel titled Healing Rain that I am in the process of editing, and I am also in the middle of the sequel to my debut novel, The Visitors. Though they are both young adult fiction novels, they are very different. Healing Rain is a realistic contemporary piece about a teen girl starting over in a new town after a devastating event changed her family and shook her Christian faith. She is trying to keep her dark past a secret while juggling new friends (and enemies), new love interest(s), therapy, and fitting in at her new high school. The sequel to the The Visitors (which debuts in September) is a science fiction piece with romance and action mixed in, but I can’t give too many details just yet – I wouldn’t want to spoil the end of The Visitors before it even comes out! I typically focus on one project at a time, but I’m actually enjoying dabbling back and forth between the two at this time. Healing Rain will be complete in the very near future, leaving me to focus on The Visitors – I have a third novel outlined to complete this series after I finish the sequel in progress.

question 2) How does your work differ from others in your genre?

I will focus on The Visitors, as this is the novel that will be available soon. I think it will be easier to answer this question if you already know a little bit about the story, and since it hasn’t been released just yet, I will give you a little blurb about the novel:

Seventeen-year-old Noah awakes one day to find that dangerous, irrational, self-serving, and destructive visitors called “humans” are coming to visit his beautiful, perfect planet. All citizens are ordered to have limited contact and share little information with these visitors.

Sixteen-year-old Jady is thrilled to accompany her father and his crew on a trip to a recently-discovered planet, Verdant. The United States’ crew is hopeful that they can learn from this advanced yet similar species.

Despite their greatest efforts to fight it, it doesn’t take long for Jady and Noah to fall in love and begin a secret affair. But when their relationship is revealed, danger is created for everyone involved…

Some of the concepts in the novel – teen romance, forbidden love, and futuristic space travel – are universal, which people can relate to. The storyline, however, has several unique features: I have created my own planet, with a dystopian society of people who look like humans but are very, very different in the way they think and live. My main characters, Noah and Jady, are young and get swept away in love, but they’re both incredibly intelligent, brave, and strong in their own ways. I hope that my readers will fall in love with them the way I have.

question 3) Why do you write what you write?

I have been a writer my whole life. It’s a passion. These ideas enter my head – sometimes through dreams, sometimes in conversation with friends or at work when I’m teaching – and they just won’t leave me alone until I write and release them. Young adult literature is and has always been what I love. When I was growing up, it was the way I escaped every day. I loved authors who could make me feel like I was part of the story – like the characters I was reading about were part of my life, too. I think my love for working with young people compels me to write for them as well.

question 4) How does your writing process work?

I wouldn’t say I have one magical formula for writing a novel. Writing BC – Before Child – was much easier! I get an idea, and then create a rough outline for a story in my head. I develop my main characters, picturing them as I imagine what their personalities will become. Then, I just start writing. Some days I write more than others, but I would guess that I average about ten pages a day, on good days. Of course, with a full-time job and a family, there are many days that I don’t reach that goal! I have to do most of my writing when my little man is asleep, either during his mid-day nap or at night when he goes to bed. You will often find us in my recliner – him sprawled across my lap asleep, and me leaning over him and typing away on my computer. Once I complete a novel, I usually step away from it for a few weeks. I then go back and read it again, editing for any mistakes and changing any scenes that feel weak. Sometimes this means cutting out entire chapters and rewriting them, so the editing process can take a few weeks as well.

I’m very excited to introduce the authors who will be joining me on this blog hop and posting on August 5.

KV Flynn: Author of Middle Grade and Young Adult Literature whose first book debuts in September as well. Find him at www.OnTheMoveBooks.com,

Karen King: Author of Young Adult Literature. Find her at www.karenking.net.

Tammi Steiner Booth: Author of Young Adult Literature. Find her at www.awritersdevotion.blogspot.com.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Worldwide Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

